The Hydrocephalus Association’s Scholarship Program was established in 1994 to provide financial assistance to capable and promising young adults who live with the ongoing challenges and complexities of hydrocephalus. The Teens Take Charge (TTC) Program was established in 2010 and through the program we are able to provide five additional scholarships. With TTC we are proud to offer a total of fourteen scholarships annually in the amount of $1000 each. However, the number of awarded scholarships may vary each year depending on available funding.

Application Process

The cycle for the 2016 scholarship program has closed. We will be accepting applications again in the beginning of January, 2017. If you would like to receive a notification once our 2017 scholarship cycle opens, please email The 2016 HA and Teens Take Charge Scholarship awardees will be announced soon. Stay tuned!


Click here to see our 2015 HA Scholarship awardees.

Click here to see our 2015 Teens Take Charge Scholarship awardees.

About Scholarship Funding

The Association is grateful to the following families for generously funding scholarship endowments:

Gerard Swartz Fudge Memorial Scholarships

This fund was established in 1994 by the Fudge family in honor of their son Gerard, who lived with hydrocephalus. In 1992, at age 22 and in the midst of his college experience, Gerard died. Two scholarships are awarded each year from this fund.

Morris L. and Rebecca Ziskind Memorial Scholarships

This fund was established in 2001 by Rebecca Ziskind and her family in memory of Rebecca’s husband, Dr. Morris Ziskind. Dr. Ziskind had normal pressure hydrocephalus. After Rebecca Ziskind’s death in 2005, the couple’s three surviving children and their spouses—Carrie and Dee Norton, Jerome and Rosemary Ziskind, and Janet and Charles Tarino—graciously endowed this fund in loving memory of both parents. Two scholarships are awarded each year from this fund.

Anthony Abbene Scholarships

This fund was established in 2002 by Anthony Abbene’s extended family in honor of this teenager with hydrocephalus. Two scholarships are awarded each year from this fund to offset educational costs of a student with hydrocephalus.

Justin Scot Alston Memorial Scholarship

Gloria M. Alston established this scholarship in loving memory of her son, Justin Scot Alston, who died in 2004. Justin received a Hydrocephalus Association scholarship in 2002 and will be remembered for his tremendous optimistic attitude and all that he accomplished during his short life.

Mario J. Tocco Hydrocephalus Foundation Scholarship

Greg and Georgana Tocco along with their families established this scholarship in 2007 in loving memory of Greg’s grandfather, Mario, and in honor of the Hydrocephalus Foundation, Inc. of Saugus, MA.

Hydrocephalus Association Fund Scholarship

Erik and Lisa Chamberlain began providing support of this scholarship in 2015 in honor of their son, Myles Chamberlain. Born in 2011, Myles optimism, positive energy and determination touches us all on a daily basis. One scholarship is awarded from this scholarship. However, the number awarded through the Hydrocephalus Association Scholarship Fund may vary each year depending on available funding.

Teens Take Charge Scholarships

The TTC Scholarship are proudly sponsored by the Medtronic Foundation and Clare Rose Foundation.

Support Future Scholars

If you are interested in sponsoring students with hydrocephalus please email

Other Scholarships

The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) Scholarship Program supports students with disabilities who are pursuing higher education. Preference will be given to students who plan to pursue undergraduate/graduate studies in the field of public health, health promotion, or disability studies, to include disability policy and disability research. Visit and click on “Scholarship Program” for more details and to download the application.

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options