Recipients By Year

Announcing HA Scholarship Recipients

We are pleased to announce the Hydrocephalus Association (HA) Award recipients. HA's Scholarship Program was established in 1994 to provide financial assistance to capable and promising teens, young adults, and adults who live with the ongoing challenges and complexities of hydrocephalus.

Our gratitude is extended to all the funders for their generosity and the Scholarship Committee for all their support and dedication.

Class of:

2023 HA Scholars 2016 TTC Scholars
2022 HA Scholars 2015 TTC Scholars
2021 HA Scholars 2014 TTC Scholars
2020 HA Scholars 2013 TTC Scholars
2019 HA Scholars 2012 TTC Scholars
2018 HA Scholars
2017 HA Scholars
2016 HA Scholars
2015 HA Scholars
2014 HA Scholars
2013 HA Scholars
2012 HA Scholars
2011 HA Scholars


Recipients by Scholarship

Since the scholarship program was established in 1994, HA has awarded 253 scholarships to 253 deserving future leaders of our community. We are grateful to the following families for generously funding scholarship endowments:

Gerard Swartz Fudge Memorial Scholarships, which is supported in part by Ellie Botti and Molly Mastrangelo
This fund was established in 1994 by the Fudge family in honor of their son Gerard, who lived with hydrocephalus. In 1992, at age 22 and in the midst of his college experience, Gerard died. Two scholarships are awarded each year from this fund.

Baldus Family Scholarship in Memory of Gerard Swartz Fudge
This fund was established in 2017 by Sally Baldus, the aunt of Gerard Swartz Fudge. Gerard lived with hydrocephalus and, in 1992, at age 22 and in the midst of his college experience, passed from complications of the condition. One scholarship is awarded each year from this fund.

Anthony Abbene Scholarships
This fund was established in 2002 by Anthony Abbene’s extended family in honor of this teenager with hydrocephalus. Two scholarships are awarded each year from this fund to offset the educational costs of a student with hydrocephalus.

Justin Scot Alston Memorial Scholarship
Gloria M. Alston established this scholarship in loving memory of her son, Justin Scot Alston, who died in 2004. Justin received a Hydrocephalus Association scholarship in 2002 and will be remembered for his tremendous optimistic attitude and all that he accomplished during his short life.

Mario J. Tocco Hydrocephalus Foundation Scholarship
Greg and Georgana Tocco along with their families established this scholarship in 2007 in loving memory of Greg’s grandfather, Mario, and in honor of the Hydrocephalus Foundation, Inc. of Saugus, MA.

Kate Finlayson Memorial Scholarship
The Finlayson Family established this scholarship in 2017 in loving memory of their daughter, sister, and aunt, Kate, to honor the strength, determination, and resilience of all those living with the challenges of hydrocephalus. Kate, whose grace and compassion for others still inspires her family daily, passed from complications of hydrocephalus at age 26 while pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing. One scholarship is awarded each year from this fund.

Jacobsen Family Scholarship
Established in 2021 to support the continuing education of students who continue to strive with determination and resilience while dealing with the daily impacts of hydrocephalus.

Hydrocephalus Association
Erik and Lisa Chamberlain began providing support of this scholarship in 2015 in honor of their son, Myles Chamberlain. Born in 2011, Myles optimism, positive energy, and determination touches us all on a daily basis. One scholarship is awarded from this scholarship. However, the number awarded through the Hydrocephalus Association Scholarship Fund may vary each year depending on available funding.

For all recipients by scholarship, click here.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!