Diana Gray Named Chair of National Health Council Board

Diana Gray, HA President and CEO, was named Chairperson of the National Health Council (NHC) Board of Directors for 2021. She was elected to the role at the NHC's annual membership meeting this week.

Created by and for patient organizations 100 years ago, the NHC brings over 140 diverse organizations together to forge consensus and drive patient-centered health policy. The NHC’s membership includes the nation’s leading patient organizations, health-related associations and nonprofit organizations, and businesses representing the pharmaceutical and medical device sector.

“Diana will be a stellar leader in 2021, helping the NHC and our members to look forward with hope after a year of many challenges,” said Eleanor M. Perfetto, PhD, MS, NHC Interim Chief Executive Officer and Executive Vice President of Strategic Initiatives. “Her guidance, in addition to the range of organizations represented by our new and returning Board members, will aid the NHC in welcoming a new Chief Executive Officer and creating a new strategic plan in the coming year.”

"I'm incredibly honored to serve as Board Chair of this historic organization and look forward to continuing to serve with leaders of the nation's top patient advocacy organizations as we collectively amplify our voices on behalf of the 160 million Americans with chronic health conditions and disabilities and their caregivers ," Gray said. "The value of collaboration through the National Health Council with representatives across the diverse spectrum of the health ecosystem is invaluable for the Hydrocephalus Association, as no one entity alone can affect the broad spectrum of health policy changes needed in critical areas like access to high-value, affordable care, health equity, and the importance of representativeness in the development of new, innovative treatments for patients."

Other members of the NHC 2021 Executive Committee are: Chair-Elect LaVarne Burton, President & Chief Executive Officer, American Kidney Fund; Vice Chair Stevan Gibson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Lupus Foundation of America; Secretary Matt Eyles, President & Chief Executive Officer, America’s Health Insurance Plans; Treasurer Lisa Simpson, M.B., B.Ch., M.P.H., FAAP, President & Chief Executive Officer, AcademyHealth; and Immediate Past Chairperson Ann Palmer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Arthritis Foundation.