Meet the Medical Chairs of the 13th National Conference on Hydrocephalus

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

National Conference on HydrocephalusFor more than 30 years, the Hydrocephalus Association (HA) has been bringing families and professionals together at many different events, Community Network meetings, at WALKs all over the country and at the National Conference on Hydrocephalus. The Conference this year will be held July 9-11, 2014, in Portland, OR.

Every one of our conferences is planned with the guidance and input of our Medical Chairs. As this year’s conference is going to be in Portland, OR, we are honored to have Dr. Nathan Selden host the 13th National Conference on Hydrocephalus and join Drs. Marion L. Walker and Michael A. Williams as our medical chairs.

Meet the 13th National Conference on Hydrocephalus Medical Chairs:


Nathan Selden MD

Dr. Nathan Selden

Dr. Selden was raised in Portland, Oregon.  He graduated ‘With Distinction’ from Stanford University and then spent three years at Cambridge University, as a Marshall Scholar, completing a Ph.D. in neuroscience and rowing for Jesus College.  At Harvard Medical School, he was awarded the John E. Thayer Scholarship and graduated cum laude, in neuroanatomy.

Dr. Selden trained at the University of Michigan and in pediatric neurosurgery at Northwestern University. His post-doctoral work on human basal ganglia anatomy won the 1998 Academy of Neurological Surgery Award.

Dr. Selden is the Campagna Chair of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Oregon Health & Science University, Neurosurgery Residency Program Director, and Vice-Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery.

Dr. Selden’s clinical focus is on neurosurgery for children, including epilepsy, hydrocephalus, brain tumors, and congenital malformations. At OHSU, he performed the first transplantation of neuronal stem cells in a human patient, as part of a clinical trial treating Batten’s disease. He has published extensive clinical evidence regarding spinal dysraphism and twice served as an author of the Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury Guidelines. The NIH, the Oregon Child Health Research Center, and the Cameron Foundation have funded his research on brainstem functional anatomy.

Dr. Selden has a significant interest in lifelong neurosurgical education and educational science. He is Chair of the group that in 2012 developed new educational outcomes measures for all U.S. neurosurgery training programs, the ACGME Milestones. He also founded the Neurosurgery PGY1 Boot Camps, which are attended by all incoming U.S. neurosurgery residents and are designed to improve safety and quality in training programs. In part for these efforts, Dr. Selden received the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education in 2013.

Dr. Selden is the President-elect of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, and will serve as its President from 2014 to 15. He also serves the Society of Neurological Surgeons, the residency program directors’ society for neurological surgery, as chair of the Committee on Resident Education.


Dr Marion Jack Walker

Dr. Marion “Jack” Walker

Dr. Walker received his undergraduate education at Brigham Young University and Mississippi College. He received his M.D. degree from the University of Tennessee College of Medicine in 1969. An internship in General Surgery at Latter-Day Saints Hospital in Salt Lake City, 1969-1970, was followed by residency training in General Surgery from 1970-1971 at St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center in Phoenix, AZ. He completed his neurosurgery residency training between 1971 and 1976 at the Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix. He also completed a 12-month fellowship in pediatric neurosurgery at The Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Ontario.

Dr. Walker is Professor of Neurosurgery in the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery/Department of Neurological Surgery and Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Utah Health Sciences Center and the Primary Children’s Medical Center in Salt Lake City, UT. His research interests are hydrocephalus and spasticity. He is a former Chairman of the Pediatric Section of the AANS, the Section on Pediatric Neurosurgery of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Society of Pediatric Neurosurgeons. He has served as President of the International Society of Pediatric Neurosurgery and is a past Editor of the Journal of Neurosurgery: Pediatrics. He is a founding member of the American Board of Pediatric Neurological Surgery and has served as the Chairman of that organization. He is currently Chairman of the Accreditation Council for Pediatric Neurosurgical Fellowships. Dr. Walker has been a member of the Hydrocephalus Association Medical Advisory Board for many years and currently serves as Chairman of the MAB. He joined the Board of Directors of the Hydrocephalus Association in 2008.


Williams 300x400

Dr. Michael A. Williams

Dr. Williams is Medical Director of The Sandra and Malcolm Berman Brain & Spine Institute at Sinai Hospital of Baltimore.

He received his M.D. and Neurology training at Indiana University Medical Center, finishing in 1989. After a fellowship in Neurosciences Critical Care at Johns Hopkins Hospital, he joined the Department of Neurology faculty in 1991, where he was an NCCU attending physician and also established the Adult Hydrocephalus Center. He moved to Sinai Hospital in 2007 to become Medical Director of the Brain & Spine Institute, where he also established and directs their Adult Hydrocephalus Program.

Dr. Williams’ research and publications in hydrocephalus represent the systematic analysis of specialized clinical care and include demonstration of best methods for diagnosing normal pressure hydrocephalus (NPH), evidence that significant recovery can be attained with treatment, descriptions of new syndromes such as SHYMA, the use of physiologic monitoring to diagnose hydrocephalus and related disorders, and demonstration of the national economic impact of treating or not treating NPH. With research funding from the National Space Biomedical Research Institute, he is currently investigating 2 potential noninvasive methods for measuring ICP.

Dr. Williams co-chaired the first-ever NINDS Workshop on hydrocephalus in 2005 and was on the steering committee for the 2009 NINDS and Hydrocephalus Association–supported conference, “Improving outcomes in hydrocephalus: Bridging the gap between basic science and clinical management.” In 2008, he helped to create the International Society for Hydrocephalus and CSF Disorders (ISHCSF), hosted their first scientific conference in September 2009, and is currently the president of the ISHCSF. In 2013, he was invited by the Institute of Medicine to comment on NASA’s Evidence Report on the Risk of Spaceflight-Induced Intracranial Hypertension/Vision Alterations.

He is actively involved in patient advocacy with the Hydrocephalus Association, is a member of the Medical Advisory Board, and is a member of the Scientific Advisory Panel to the Intracranial Hypertension Research Foundation.

Dr. Williams is also recognized in the field of biomedical ethics. He chaired the Ethics, Law and Humanities Committee of the American Academy of Neurology, was the associate editor for Ethics for Continuum: Lifelong Learning in Neurology, and has given invited lectures at the American Bar Association, the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, and the AAAS/Dana Foundation-sponsored Judicial Seminars on Emerging Issues in Neuroscience.

 Stay tuned for more details about the conference in future announcements!

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Comment

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options