Dr. Marion “Jack” Walker Honored for his Contributions to Pediatric Neurosurgery

Dr. Marion Jack Walker

Dr. Marion “Jack” Walker with his beloved wife Susy

The American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS)/Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) Section on Pediatric Neurosurgery is awarding Marion L. Walker, MD, FAANS (L) the 2014 Franc D. Ingraham Award for Distinguished Service and Achievement for his contributions to pediatric neurosurgery.  Dr. Walker is the Chair of the Medical Advisory Board of the Hydrocephalus Association (HA) and is a member of HA’s Board of Directors. The HA board of directors, the Hydrocephalus Association staff and volunteers, and our entire community congratulates Dr. Walker for this award and his years of service, dedication and contributions to neurosurgery, particularly to the field of hydrocephalus.

From AANS/CNS Meeting final program:

Marion L. Walker, MD, FAANS (L)

Dr. Walker has had a distinguished career in neurosurgery.

He has been invited as a Visiting Professor to numerous centers around the world. He has been instrumental in the development of pediatric neurosurgery as a subspecialty. In 1976, he was recruited to the University of Utah, where he established the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery, becoming Division Chief in 1978, a position he held for 28 years. He has been an influential mentor for residents and fellows during his tenure at the University of Utah/Primary Children’s Hospital. Dr. Walker has served as the Chairman of the AANS/CNS Section on Pediatric Neurological Surgery, the President of the American Society of Pediatric Neurosurgery (ASPN), and President of the International Society of Pediatric Neurosurgery (ISPN). He has made seminal academic contributions in many areas of pediatric neurosurgery, especially in hydrocephalus and spasticity. Dr. Walker has served on the editorial board of multiple journals and has served as Chairman of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Neurosurgery: Pediatrics. He is the Past-Chairman of the American Board of Pediatric Neurosurgery (ABPNS) and recently served as Chairman of the Accreditation Council for Pediatric Neurosurgery Fellowships. He now serves as Chair of the Medical Advisory Board of the Hydrocephalus Association (HA) and is a member of HA’s Board of Directors.