Diana Gray Honored for Exemplary Service for the National Health Council

Left to right, 2022 Board Chair, LaVarne Burton, President and CEO, American Kidney Fund; Diana Gray, President and CEO, Hydrocephalus Association; 2023 Incoming Board Chair, Kenny Mendez, President and CEO, Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

Diana Gray, M.A., President and CEO of the Hydrocephalus Association, was honored for her outstanding service for the National Health Council (NHC) at their annual membership meeting on December 6, 2022. She has served and generously given her time and talent as both the NHC Board Chair in 2021 and the Immediate Past Chair in 2022.

Diana was elected to the board chair role in December 2020 at the culmination of a year-long celebration of NHC’s 100th anniversary. In 2021, she guided the board through a year of renewed hope after facing the challenges that 2020 brought for health organizations. Additionally, Diana supported the hiring and onboarding of the council’s new CEO, Randall Rutta in February 2021.

In 2022, she served as the Immediate Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee. Diana continued to provide guidance and support through these roles to the board, council leadership and membership.

“It is a privilege to serve in a leadership capacity with the National Health Council as we work collectively to represent the 133 million Americans living with a chronic disease or disability, including those living with hydrocephalus.”

The NHC was created more than 100 years ago, by and for patient organizations. The council brings diverse organizations together to forge consensus and drive patient-centered health policy. It promotes increased access to affordable, high-value, sustainable health care. Currently comprised of more than 145 national health- related organizations and businesses, the NHC’s core membership includes the nation’s leading patient organizations. Other members include health-related associations and nonprofit organizations including the provider, research, and family caregiver communities; and businesses representing biopharmaceutical, device, diagnostic, generic drug, and payer organizations.