HydroAssist® Mobile Application Support Page

Please view our Frequently Asked Questions below. If you don’t find the answer you’re looking for, need support, or if you have a suggestion for a future enhancement, please email our development team at hydroassist@hydroassoc.org.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Can I enter information for more than 1 shunt?
A. Yes, you can. After you enter your information for your first shunt, you can add subsequent shunts from the ‘Add New Treatment’ section accessed by clicking the ‘+’ in the top right corner.

Q. What if I entered the incorrect information and need to change certain details?
A. Select the treatment from the ‘Active Treatments’ section. Then under options choose ‘Edit Original Treatment.’

Q. If I need to change the shunt setting or anti-siphon device (ASD) setting, do I need to delete the active treatment and enter it again? Or add an entirely new treatment?
A. No. You can change programmable shunt or ASD settings by selecting the treatment under ‘Active Treatments,’ click options in the bottom right corner and chose either ‘Add setting change’ for a shunt setting change or ‘Add ASD change’ for an adjustment to the ASD settings.

Q. What if my shunt is not listed?
A. We understand that there are many different shunt manufacturers and some shunts are no longer in production. Please email as many details as you can regarding the shunt manufacturer and model, if known, and we will make our best effort to find your shunt, verify the details, and incorporate it in the next version of the app. For now, please use the ‘Other’ option on the Manufacturer screen and enter your shunt details.

Q. If a shunt is removed by my surgeon and I delete information related to that shunt, is the information related to that shunt lost?
A. If a shunt has been removed, you can select ‘Make treatment inactive’ from the options menu. This allows you to retain the treatment information for historical purposes and future reference. There is no need to delete one of your past treatments. If you delete a treatment using the trash icon, it will delete the treatment and all information entirely from the app and the data cannot be recovered.

Q. Can I back up information from this app onto my computer or online?
A. For your privacy, HydroAssist® does not automatically store any backups of the information you have entered on the mobile device. Please follow your mobile device manufacturer’s recommended backup procedures to protect your data or to recover data after an update to your mobile operating system or irreparable damage to your device.  We recommend you backup your mobile device as soon as possible after entering any new data into HydroAssist®.

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options